On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

First-quarter notes: Vikings 7, Texans 3

Posted by Nick Scurfield on December 23, 2012 – 12:55 pm

Courtesy of the Texans’ media relations staff, notes from the first quarter at Reliant Stadium, where the Texans trail the  Minnesota Vikings 7-3:


·         Scored on their opening possession for the seventh time this season and the second game in a row. Houston is 6-0 this year when scoring on the first possession of the game.


·         Scored first for the ninth time this season. Houston is 8-0 this year when scoring first.


·         Trailed after one quarter for the fifth time this year. Houston is 2-2 this season when trailing after the opening period.



·         Extended his streak of consecutive games with a reception to 82 with a 6-yard catch on the final play of the first quarter.



·         Tied his season long with a 51-yard field goal to cap Houston’s opening possession. The field goal was Graham’s 12th career kick of 50 yards or longer.



·         Became the second-fastest player in NFL history to reach 800 career receptions, doing so in his 137th career game. He reached the milestone with his first catch of the game, a 5-yard catch in the first quarter.


·         Extended his franchise-record streak of consecutive games with a reception to 97 with a 5-yard catch in the first quarter.


·         Surpassed 1,400 receiving yards for the season on a 17-yard catch in the first quarter. He became the 10th player in NFL history to top 1,400 yards in a season after the age of 30.


·         Passed WR Chad Johnson (11,059) for 27th on the NFL’s all-time receiving yardage list, doing so on a 17-yard catch in the first quarter.



·         Made his professional debut when he took the field for the opening kickoff. Pleasant was signed from the Texans practice squad on Friday.



·         Inactive players for the Texans were CB Alan Ball, G Antoine Caldwell, SS Quintin Demps, T Andrew Gardner, NT Terrell McClain, CB Stanford Routt and G Cody White.


·         Captains for the Texans were ILB Tim Dobbins, WR Andre Johnson, FS Shiloh Keo, C Chris Myers, QB Matt Schaub, DE Antonio Smith and DE J.J. Watt. Schaub, Johnson and Smith went to midfield for the pregame coin toss.


·         The Texans won the toss and elected to receive the opening kickoff.

Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in Nick Scurfield | No Comments »

Post a Comment