On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Dreessen wins Ed Block Award

Posted by Nick Scurfield on December 24, 2010 – 12:36 pm

Tight end Joel Dreessen has been voted by his teammates as the winner of the Texans’ 2010 Ed Block Courage Award. Since 1984, the award has honored one player from every NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

Dreessen overcame offseason surgery for tears to his right labrum and rotator-cuff, which he played through in 2009, to make it back in time for the first day of training camp this offseason. He has started eight games and posted career-highs in receptions (31), yards (434) and touchdowns (4). 

Previous Texans who have won the Ed Block Courage Award are linebacker Zac Diles (2009), wide receiver Harry Williams (2008), defensive end Anthony Weaver (2007), linebacker Kailee Wong (2006), wide receiver Jabar Gaffney (2005), defensive tackle Seth Payne (2004), cornerback Aaron Glenn (2003) and cornerback Jason Bell (2002).

Tags: , ,
Posted in Nick Scurfield | No Comments »

Post a Comment